And now: the Thank Yous

This is the final entry in the Exercising Ursula blog of my and Warren’s travels.  I’m back with my family in Guelph and my travels are over.  And it would have been Warren’s 56th birthday today – and that somehow seems like a fitting place to end this blog as well.

Thank you to all of you who have been following along – Warren and I both loved creating each entry and through our day would talk about what the title of the blog would be that night or what we’d like to capture.  He had never blogged before so it was fascinating for him to watch the views and likes that we got, and he was amazed at how many parts of the world our blog was being seen. Thank you for helping to make him happy and for being a witness to the story that unfolded.

Thank you to my friends and family who reached out and scooped me up  when I fell apart in Idaho Falls.  And Thank you to Warren’s friends who sent their condolences and shared good memories about a lovely and well respected man. He certainly is missed by many.

I will be continuing to add my writing and life stories on this site, but not to this particular blog. This journey is over: my suitcase is unpacked, souvenirs stored, memories treasured. My heart? Well, I’m trying to let it mend.  But part of it is missing. I don’t know how I’ll get used to not having the comfort of the man who played such a part in my life for the last 13 years… but I will never forget the spring we two 55 year olds ran away and had the most Epic Road Trip ever.

The quote from the Blues Brothers below is what Warren said every morning when we started out – he was delightfully predictable in this regard:

… we’ve got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it’s dark out, and we’re wearing sunglasses.

He certainly knew how to make me smile.

Goodnight Mr McLeod.  I’m going to miss you, my Bear.

S

IMG_0682

Published by

Sandy Kenyon

It has been a chaotic and heartbreaking year. But I'm climbing back out of this chaos, bent on carving a new path using all the things I have learned. Stay tuned for new stories :) I hope you enjoy what you read!

Leave a Reply

