Sunburns!

So, about those sunburns….

We got up late again, much to our dismay.  ‘If we’re going to waste a day’, Warren said, ‘it’s better to waste one in Canada when it’s cold and horrible’.  He is completely correct. So we got our tushes in gear and walked to Eddie’s Grill for breakfast (lunch). It was only a couple of blocks (despite Sandy’s whining that it was far and also windy) and the walk there and back made us very hot and sweaty and ready for the pool.

When we got to the pool there were leaves floating in it – remember the windy part?  So we spent a few moments skimming the leaves out and trying to clean it up a bit.  Soon enough it was as good as it could be and I had the pool to myself.  Warren set himself up on a chair facing the sun and had his large soda and ice at hand.  We were set.  I floated and watched the birds, Warren snoozed in the sun – it was pretty idyllic.

After I had done 6 laps of the pool demonstrating my excellent doggie paddle, I pulled myself out of the water and flopped on the deck again. We were out there for… oh I don’t know, an hour?  It was sunny but there was a nice breeze so it didn’t feel too warm at all. Nope, not at all.  Sigh.

Eventually we got changed and headed out to do something. We ended up at the park near the colorado river and went for a long walk, holding hands – it was lovely. Except, my back was feeling a bit… ouchy.

We had to figure out where to have dinner and after a week in Yuma we still have a dilemma every night.  We’d eaten in all the places we love and so tonight had to be a second best restaurant.  Finally, frustrated, I said ‘What about Hooters?’ And Warren said ‘Honey, we don’t want to make all the waitresses jealous’.  Seriously.  Best answer EVER. After dinner at Coco’s – a great little restaurant – we stopped at Walgreen’s pharmacy to get some things. Lotion for my back was definitely on the list.  And when we got back to the room and Warren put the lotion on my back?  It felt much better.  It hurts – not gonna lie. Warren was trying to look at the bright side of things and said at least I’d have to sleep on my stomach so no snoring tonight.  Sigh. That kind of wiped out the Hooters comment right there…. lol

And then I watched Forest Gump while lying on my stomach…

So that’s what we did.  We got sunburns just like I thought we would.

DSCN1937.JPG
a beautiful Palo verde tree

Tomorrow is the last day in Yuma – we check out at 11 and start the slow sad trek north…

Stay tuned for our sad re-entry tales…

S&W

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Published by

Sandra Kenyon

I've upended my life and moved all the way across the nation! Stay tuned for new adventures, but in the meantime I will be posting my flash fiction stories for your review :) I hope you enjoy what you read!

One thought on “Sunburns!”

Leave a Reply

